Under the supervision of municipal architect Hubert Ritter, the Grassi Museum was built between 1925 and 1929 to plans by the architects Zweck and Voigt. Both its inner courts and the adjacent park-like Alter Johannisfriedhof (Old St John’s Cemetery) create a unique cultural attraction and a place of rest and relaxation at the eastern edge of the inner city.
A book on the museum’s architecture, entitled ‘Grassimuseum Leipzig. Die Architektur’, was published in 2007 by Passage Publishers Leipzig.
Photographs by Helga Schulze-Brinkop
Selected and edited with an introduction by Olaf Thormann
The book is available from bookshops as well as from the museum shop for the price of 7.50 €.